About 16+1

The 16+1 format is an initiative by the People’s Republic of China aimed at intensifying and expanding cooperation with 11 EU Member States and 5 Balkan countries:

  • Albania
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • the Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • Hungary
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Macedonia
  • Montenegro
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia

in the fields of investments, transport, finance, science, education, and culture. In the framework of the initiative, China has defined three potential priority areas for economic cooperation: infrastructure, high technologies, and green technologies.

The first 16+1 Summit was held in Warsaw, Poland, in 2012. At the event, the Prime Minister of China announced a comprehensive initiative on cooperation with 16 Central and Eastern European countries, entitled China’s Twelve Measures for Promoting Friendly Cooperation with Central and Eastern European Countries, which is the framework document for the 16+1 format.

The earlier Summits have taken place in:

2012 - Warsaw, Poland
2013 - Bucharest, Romania
2014 - Belgrade, Serbia
2015 - Suzhou, China